14 Day Challenge

27 Oct

Well during my last blog post I was so excited at the possibility of my so-called “Sabbatical”.  Well it’s been about a month and I haven’t done anything.  Literally.  I started out strong.  Full of energy at the possibility of learning and doing everything.   Doing freelance marketing projects for a client, well for reasons beyond my control, that work is at somewhat of a stand-still.  And since coming back from my trip to Michigan and the death of my young friend, I’ve had a hard time lighting that spark again these past few weeks.   I’ve determined that I might be a little depressed and I’m trying to find a way to pull myself out of it.

I subscribe to a few different pages on Facebook and one is MindBodyGreen.  It has a host of guest writers that write on everything from how to be more green and sustainable, to yoga and meditation, to practicing mindfulness and practical tips to enrich your life emotionally.  I read an article the other day called, “How to change your life in 14 days“.  The title is loaded with promise but they come up with some practical tips to kind of pull yourself out of a rut.  I decided to try it.  I typed out a pseudo plan you can read by clicking 14 day challenge  I’ve printed it out, along with my daily affirmations page that I have taped on my bathroom mirror, and plan to review it daily and in two weeks I want to tweak it to kind of be my short-term goals.  Hopefully over these two weeks I can light a fire back under my butt and narrow down what it is that I’m trying to accomplish with my little sabbatical.

I encourage you to type out your thoughts when reading either the article or my plan.  It will help you a) put a tangible visual to your thoughts and b) it will help you organize your thoughts and help you see it a little bit clearer.  If you want access to an editable version of my plan, just leave me a comment with your email and I’d be happy to share it with you!

Leave a Reply

