The Key to Happiness

9 May

Most of you who know me, know I’m a huge fan of quotes.  They are plastered all over my room and anywhere else I can stick them for daily inspiration.  One of my favorites of favorites is a quote by Albert Schweitzer.   He said,

“Success is not the key to happiness.  Happiness is the key to success.”

There’s more to it but to me, these two sentences say it all.  I feel myself getting trapped by dogma on a continual basis.  But at the same time, where do you draw the line?  Are some social conventions there for a reason or should nothing matter but being happy?   Do social, economical, and the laws of men defy the spiritual, metaphysical, and laws of the heart?  How do you know what you truly want as opposed to just thinking that should be what you want?  There are a lot of questions in my life today that I’m not sure how to answer.   All I know is that I want to be both happy and successful.  But it feels like either way I lean, I might have to sacrifice the most important things in my life.   Why shouldn’t I be able to have it all?  Why do I even feel like I have to choose?  Life is a confusing Devil bitch sometimes.  It’s like the ultimate form of high-stakes gambling.  I guess you just need to evaluate your odds, go with your gut, and let it ride!

Leave a Reply

