“I was just trying to fix the rotary gurter….. I’m retarded”

23 Aug

Over the last few months I’ve been using verbiage and doing things I never dreamed of.  Exhibit A:  I live in an RV…   Who would have ever dreamed that I would end up living in an RV?!  This is just crazy.  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned but the city of Williston passed it’s camper ban effective September 1st.  Yes, I know.  That’s only two weeks away!  Have no fear, I just signed a promissory note on a 30 foot fifth wheel and secured a site at a very upscale campground north of town.  And by upscale, of course I mean the ghetto.  There is a reason it is nicknamed the “Trailerhood”.  I suspect I will be able to conjure up many blog topics during my stay in the Trailerhood.  However long that may end up being, I’m not sure.

This is madness.  I’ve had to do research on how to winterize an RV, what type of truck will pull a GVWR of 14,000 lbs (don’t ask.. because I still have no clue what that means), and I’ve visited what is most definitely a  craigslist scam of a campground.  “Yeah, it’ll be done in three weeks go ahead and reserve your spot today for $30o”.  Ok, well if you can show me something other than and bulldozed field then maybe we could talk but until then.. forget about it.   The lengths that people go to here to make a buck astound me.

But you know what  is equally as disturbing as how different it is to live out here is the fact of how similar it all is as well.  Maybe I am just blessed with the gift of being able to quickly adjust and assimilate to my surroundings but this could be North Adams, Michigan or Mosses Lake, Washington or even Gainesville, Texas.  The people seem the same as anywhere I’ve ever lived.   This is really no different.  I guess it is just the human condition.  We all have the same problems, concerns, and actions regardless of where we live.  I guess all of the exterior circumstances are the extraordinary ones.

But nevertheless, I feel like I am getting quite an education out here.  I’m learning so many things about RV-ing, living truly independent from the life I am familiar with, and just about life in general.  I feel the naivety wearing off daily and I feel my confidence kicking in and the power beginning to shift in my direction.   The way things really work in life are starting to become clearer and clearer to me here.  I can see good and bad things about that type of education.  I really do not want to become an bitter individual who loses respect and trust for her fellow human-beings but I also think it’s good that I am no longer a welcome rug for the world to trample upon.   Maybe it’s a good thing to be suspicious of the world.  But I’ll leave that up for debate.  I guess it just depends on what you’re most comfortable with.  There is no right answer in any of this fantastic little enigma we call life.  But I will leave you all with a quote.  One that I have posted up on the wall’s of the Bonanza to look at everyday for inspiration.

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experiences” – Eleanor Roosevelt.

That Eleanor was a smart lady.  This quote could mean so many things.  But I think the most important thing to take from this is that it doesn’t have to be physical experience.  You do not have to move 1300 miles away from your life to have this experience.  It could be holding your newborn baby, experiencing acceptance of someone free of judgement, surviving a car crash, bungee jumping, taking a walk in the woods, or learning what GVWR means.  Experience is experience.  It’s whatever you want it to be.  Williston is just one phase in my journey to experience my life to the utmost, even if that means learning a few RV-ing terms along the way.

5 Responses to ““I was just trying to fix the rotary gurter….. I’m retarded””

  1. Paul August 24, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    I say it frequently AP…. Life w/o pain and challenging experiences/periods leaves one w/o a complete a perspective. If you’ve never known true loss, pain, and failure, the maximum appreciation for successes and joyful times isn’t gained. Rich Living…You’re doing it and you’re living it….. How cool to watch you grow!!

  2. christy62 August 24, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    You amaze me!!! keep up the good work….. can you live in that fth wheel all winter??????? doesn’t it get like reaaaaaaaaaaaaaal cold there?

    Live, love, laugh and enjoy your life choices!

    ________________________________

    • bonanzablog August 24, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      Believe it or not, I am going to live in the fifth wheel this winter. I’ve heard how cold it gets here… That will be the true test of my bravery! lol

  3. Erica September 2, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    You are so amazing!! I have told so many people about your journey and just can’t say enough of how admiring you are!! I do miss you very much but the memories you are now making are so unimaginable to me….so jealous my friend!! Enjoy this time in your life and remember that life is short so live long days n live em with a smile!! Cause after all…happy faces make happy people! Love ya girl n keep on a truckin!!!!

    • bonanzablog September 2, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      Thanks for your encouragement, Erica!!! It means a lot. I miss you guys tons!

Leave a Reply

