Consumer Debt-free!

13 Aug

Good news:  I didn’t post my consumer debt on this website but today I took care of over $1,000 in consumer debt.  Now all that is outstanding in my name are the student loans.  Which I hope to start chipping away at any day now.  Well, I guess what I really mean is by the next payday.

Isn’t it funny how life keeps throwing obstacles in your way?  It’s just WAY too easy to make excuses.  I am currently facing two roadblocks in the journey to become debt-free.  One; the city of Williston passed their camper ban and by September 1st I’m getting kicked out my current home.  I have a few options but I’m still feeling a little unsettled about them.  Originally I was supposed to be on the waiting list for our corporate apartments.  I was pretty much next in line for a brand new snazy two bedroom when my company got outbid for the leases in one of our apartment buildings by  none other than an oil company.  This is forcing everyone to relocate into the new apartments thus taking up the 34 soon to be available apartment units.  So instead of being 3rd on the waiting list I am now 37th.  Our housing agent says I still have a pretty good chance to get a three bedroom but if I’ve learned anything in Williston, it’s that nothing is for sure until it happens… and not even then.

Which brings me to roadblock numero dos;  El Rancho, the bar I have been moonlighting at, has been purchased by new owners and they are shutting the doors to remodel the whole entire building and letting all of the staff go.  So myself and the other four gals that work there are out of a job.  Luckily for me and one other girl the bar was just a source of supplemental income but for three of them this was their full-time job.  So now I will no longer be receiving an extra $300-$400 per week.  This puts a little dent in my debt-free timeline.  So now I am faced with the decision to try and find another part-time job that will work around my schedule and be flexible or to extend my drop-dead date and become extremely frugal.  Decisions, decisions.

Obviously, my number one priority is housing.   Especially with winter right around the corner.  I’m going to take some time off and focus on getting my poop in a group.  Then I will re-evaluate the situation once I have a somewhat stable living environment as well as a stable budget in place.

I’ve always struggled with the notion of working my life away.  I just can’t see me depriving myself of good times due to money.  I’ve never been all about the money so this journey is a particular hard adjustment for me.  Life’s too short but then again I think, “well it’s only two years of my life” to sacrifice.  But two years is too much.  Two minutes is too much.  I’m old enough to know how precious life is and I think that as long as I keep working towards my goals of becoming debt-free I’m not going to beat myself up over spending money on memories.  Dave Ramsey and the like might disagree.  Well, I’ll be sure to give their view more thought over Labor Day weekend while I’m tucked way in the backwoods of Washington for a four day weekend of good friends and great memories.

Leave a Reply

