Double Gainfully Employed!

23 Jul

Well, it’s official.  I landed a pretty sweet job.  Like a big girl, real job!  It is a pretty fantastic opportunity with a great company.  I am the assistant to the Director of Operations for the North Dakota region and I will also eventually merge into the supervisor for all the administrative positions at some point in the near future.  I do not want to disclose the name of the company just because.  I’m not really sure why but I just do not want to.  I will say that it is an environmental and energy services company that specializes in many facets but primarily in oil and gas third party servicing for their United States and Bakken region (my region/NoDak).  Basically what that means is that we are a third party vendor that offers a variety of services for the oil and gas industry.  And son.. business is a’ boomin’.

I am very excited about this opportunity for a few reasons.  First, my boss is amazing.  He is very knowledgeable in the industry and just an all around great guy.  He is also the farthest up the totem pole for our company without going to the U.S. headquarters or the Main headquarters in Canada.  He also has his hands in a lot of pots and in all areas of the company all the way from operations to development to communications.  This basically means that I will have a bird’s eye view of this company by being his right hand man.  Another reason is that this company is taking off at an incredible rate.  We are growing so fast and there is so much to learn!  This kind of stuff really excites me.  I am a geek at heart.  This is a prefect opportunity to see the inner-workings of a multi-million dollar company.  Finally, well not finally, but finally for the sake of this post (because there are many great reasons to be excited about this), is that I get paid really well and have a realistic shot of hitting my two year goal of paying off my student loans!

This has morphed my overall strategy a bit though.  With an opportunity like this in my lap I am no longer of the mind-set of “get in, get mine, and get out”.  Now I am of the long-term mind-set.  Who knows where this could take me.  This is a growing, global company and there are a myriad of possibilities and I’m not even going to pretend that I  have a clue what I want in life past my two  year mark.  That is all a work in progress.  But with this opportunity and the people and knowledge I can acquire, the future is looking bright regardless where I land geographically.

In the future, I’d like to post my salary, a budget (kind of waiting on stable housing because right now my rent could be anywhere from $400-$1500 a month), and a possible debt-free date.  Now, I am still planning to work at the Lounge but I cut back to three shifts a week which is still going to give me a supplemental income of about $1300-$1600 per month.  Which should cover most of my living expenses given that all current variables stay the same thus leaving my salary from my full-time job to start chopping away at that debt.

I know this is a very general post.  I hope to specify more in the future, but I just wanted to share the good news!   I’ve also made a personal goal to post at least once a week.  Even if it is just “Yo!  Keep reading this blog, man!”  or “Horse walks into the bar. Bartender says, “Hey!  Why the long face?”.  Ok, probably not.   I will most likely find something interesting to write about.  Well hopefully something that you all might find interesting anyway.  Because I’ve decided that even though this blog is more for me and documenting my journey, it’s also about you too.  Because if I don’t keep you all in mind as I try to share my story, thoughts, etc., then this whole deal is pointless.  And if I am anything in life, it is purposeful.

So again, if you have any questions, comments, or concerns please feel free to share.  And make sure I keep posting!  Until next time, my friends… keep on keepin’ on!!!

One Response to “Double Gainfully Employed!”

  1. Cris July 24, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    Way to go Ashley! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

